Grerg
Grerg
Register | Login Submit this form

Review - InFamous

Infamous Review
Posted on May 25, 2009 by Shak
 

When I first saw inFAMOUS at E3 2007, it didn't strike me as anything more than an average game. I am a big fan of SuckerPunch and loved Sly Cooper on the PS2, but something about this game just looked generic to me. However, the more footage I saw, the more the game began to appeal to me. Sucker Punch has put a lot of time and work into this title, and it shows in everything from the graphics to the gameplay.

When you first start the game, you'll find that it requires an install, but no need to worry as it isn't very long at all. The installation takes no more than a minute to do 20% and the rest is installed in the background during the opening cinematic. I don't want to go into too much detail regarding the story, as it is extremely well done and you'll want to experience it for yourself, but here are the basics: Cole, the protagonist of inFAMOUS, is your average guy, until he one day wakes up injured from a mysterious blast with everything around him destroyed. As you progress through the debris Cole realizes that something is wrong because he doesn't get hurt from electrical shocks. Towards the end of the level he collapses, and the game goes into a comic strip style movie. This really is a great way to tell the story—it is simple yet effective, and fits the superhero style of the game very well. It also means that there are almost no loading screens, because they are essentially covered up by these short cut scenes, much like Uncharted. This does lead to some pop-in, and some textures may appear blurry at first, but none of it is game breaking.

There are a few other graphical glitches, which is to be expected in a game of this size. Sometimes enemies will get stuck in places around the city—at one point I even managed to kick an enemy through a building—but for the most part this won't be much of a problem. Empire City is huge, the draw distance is very impressive, and you can literally go as far as the eye can see. Cole's electricity looks amazing, which is fortunate considering how much you'll be seeing it.

inFAMOUS is an open-world game with a basic karma system. You'll have to do a quick tutorial and one required mission, but after that you have free reign over Cole. Missions are started by getting to certain points on the map, and include story objectives as well as a whole load of side quests. Clicking the left analog stick brings up points of interest on your map, such as blast shards, electrical draining points, dead drops, etc. The basic objective of the game is to get electricity flowing to all of Empire City again, although there are story missions that are based around other problems in the city as well. In order to restore power, you must go into the sewers under an electricity-free area and bridge the connection between the transformers using your body. A new ability for Cole is unlocked each time you do this, quickly ramping up his initially limited set of powers.

ADD ARTICLE:   Delicious | Digg | Facebook | Google | N4G

You must Login or Register to post comments
Dustin S. says:
cant wait to get this game in a few hours
Posted on May 26, 2009 02:50:49
tonzie says:
I agree with Dustin. After playing the demo I was sold, this game is amazing.
Posted on May 26, 2009 08:08:06
Antonie says:
Picking it up as soon as I have money!
Posted on May 27, 2009 00:17:59
monkeynerd says:
Yes the demo was awesome. I'll have to pick this up one day soon
Posted on Jun 3, 2009 07:31:22
glen421 says:
Picked it up over the weekend. Played the demo eveyday since released then finally my fiance said why don't you just go by it. So I did and man she isn't happy now. Now that I play all the time. Great game a must have for every PS3 owner.
Posted on Jun 3, 2009 14:46:30
MoeKz says:
I want this game. Mostly for the Uncharted 2 demo. I honestly didn't like the inFamous demo so much but I can't judge a game by a short, measly demo.
Posted on Jun 8, 2009 19:21:17
OwnU4eva says:
New to the site. Totally dig this game. I've only played the demo but still, I know this game is awesome. Going to buy it in the next few weeks.
Posted on Jun 14, 2009 18:53:58
OwnU4eva says:
New to the site. Totally dig this game. I've only played the demo but still, I know this game is awesome. Going to buy it in the next few weeks.
Posted on Jun 14, 2009 18:53:58
MoeKz says:
I want this game. Mostly for the Uncharted 2 demo. I honestly didn't like the inFamous demo so much but I can't judge a game by a short, measly demo.
Posted on Jun 8, 2009 19:21:17
glen421 says:
Picked it up over the weekend. Played the demo eveyday since released then finally my fiance said why don't you just go by it. So I did and man she isn't happy now. Now that I play all the time. Great game a must have for every PS3 owner.
Posted on Jun 3, 2009 14:46:30
monkeynerd says:
Yes the demo was awesome. I'll have to pick this up one day soon
Posted on Jun 3, 2009 07:31:22
Antonie says:
Picking it up as soon as I have money!
Posted on May 27, 2009 00:17:59
tonzie says:
I agree with Dustin. After playing the demo I was sold, this game is amazing.
Posted on May 26, 2009 08:08:06
Dustin S. says:
cant wait to get this game in a few hours
Posted on May 26, 2009 02:50:49
Dustin S. says:
cant wait to get this game in a few hours
Posted on May 26, 2009 02:50:49
tonzie says:
I agree with Dustin. After playing the demo I was sold, this game is amazing.
Posted on May 26, 2009 08:08:06
Antonie says:
Picking it up as soon as I have money!
Posted on May 27, 2009 00:17:59
monkeynerd says:
Yes the demo was awesome. I'll have to pick this up one day soon
Posted on Jun 3, 2009 07:31:22
glen421 says:
Picked it up over the weekend. Played the demo eveyday since released then finally my fiance said why don't you just go by it. So I did and man she isn't happy now. Now that I play all the time. Great game a must have for every PS3 owner.
Posted on Jun 3, 2009 14:46:30
MoeKz says:
I want this game. Mostly for the Uncharted 2 demo. I honestly didn't like the inFamous demo so much but I can't judge a game by a short, measly demo.
Posted on Jun 8, 2009 19:21:17
OwnU4eva says:
New to the site. Totally dig this game. I've only played the demo but still, I know this game is awesome. Going to buy it in the next few weeks.
Posted on Jun 14, 2009 18:53:58
InFamous INFAMOUS
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developer: Sucker Punch
Genre: Action
ESRB: Not Yet Rated
Release: 2009-05-26
Wished: 0
PCN Rating: 9.3

NEWS | PREVIEWS | REVIEWS | FEATURES | PICS | VIDEOS

Related Screenshots
InFamous Screenshots InFamous Screenshots
InFamous Screenshots

Latest screenshots are displayed MORE SCREENSHOTS

InFamous - InFamous - "Beauty of Power"
Posted March 30, 2009
Size: 9.00 MB
Category: Videos
InFamous - CES #2 InFamous - CES #2
Posted January 10, 2009
Size: 14.42 MB
Category: Gameplay
InFamous - CES #1 InFamous - CES #1
Posted January 10, 2009
Size: 20.97 MB
Category: Gameplay

Latest videos are displayed + MORE VIDEOS