Warning: mysql_query(): Access denied for user ''@'localhost' (using password: NO) in [path]/includes/template/index.php on line 53

Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in [path]/includes/template/index.php on line 53

Warning: mysql_fetch_assoc() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in [path]/includes/template/index.php on line 54
Register Submit this form
 



Go Back   PS3Center.net Discussion Boards > PlayStation Chat > PlayStation 3 Discussion > Technical Support
Follow us on Twitter!
Connect with Facebook

User Name Yes! I'm over 13
   years old
Password
Confirm Pass Submit this form
Email Address
Confirm Email
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-12-2007   #1
"The New Guy"
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
New PS3 40 GIG Big Problem With Reading the Disk

Hello, Let me just say in advance, thanks to anyone who took the time out to read this post and help me out. I just received a 40 Gig PS3 for Christmas. I've had a PS2 for years and I know how to set the system up. I was very careful and read all the directions. I set up the video and system settings and inserted the disk (not the movie) that comes with the system after I updated the software to version 2.10. The disk contains trailers for games and movies and shows you how to set up your online account. It played for 2 minutes, froze, and then it said that the disk could not be read. After that no other disk would play in the system. The system is literally hours old and will not play any dvd, blue ray dvd, or Assassins Creed. I have tried different dvd's and cd's. The little cirlce in the corner of the screen just keeps acting as if it is still reading the disk. If anyone has any information I would greatly appreciate it. I don't want to send this thing back to SONY. Thanks for the info and help.
ohb70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2007   #2
I own your soul! (Mod)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hull, England
Posts: 1,578
I can understand why you wouldn't want to send it back to Sony, (it being hours old and all) but it sounds like you're going to have to, that seems like a pretty serious problem, there should be a customer care line somewhere on the box or one of the manuals for Sony (which may be a little busy this time of year), call that and see what they say.
__________________
Holy carp! I got 1000 posts? I obviously wasn't paying attention.
Read the rules... or answer to me
NinjaSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2007   #3
PCN Addict
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Over the river and through the woods
Posts: 716
PSN ID: AdventOfAnarchy
Can you not get the PS3 exchanged for a new 40GB at the place it was bought? If you can that would be the easiest thing to do.
__________________
http://www.ps3center.net/images/uplo...bar_member.jpg

"I am wearing my safety goggles, that is how serious I am about this game."
lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2007   #4
The Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UP my bum
Posts: 3,083
Exchanging it at the shop is the quickest, but if it was bought online, call sony, they come to your door with a new PS3, and take your old one away.
__________________
[CENTER][I][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkOrange"]I GOTS TEH RUMBLE CONTROLLER![/COLOR][/SIZE][/I][/CENTER]
[CENTER][IMG]http://fc04.deviantart.com/fs17/f/2007/161/3/e/Heroes___A_Pixelated_Sylar_by_Murraycita.gif[/IMG][/CENTER]
MattZani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2007   #5
PCN Addict
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Over the river and through the woods
Posts: 716
PSN ID: AdventOfAnarchy
Really?!?! 5+ points goes to Sony.
__________________
http://www.ps3center.net/images/uplo...bar_member.jpg

"I am wearing my safety goggles, that is how serious I am about this game."
lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2007   #6
The Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UP my bum
Posts: 3,083
well they do in the Uk
__________________
[CENTER][I][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkOrange"]I GOTS TEH RUMBLE CONTROLLER![/COLOR][/SIZE][/I][/CENTER]
[CENTER][IMG]http://fc04.deviantart.com/fs17/f/2007/161/3/e/Heroes___A_Pixelated_Sylar_by_Murraycita.gif[/IMG][/CENTER]
MattZani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2008   #7
"The New Guy"
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Here in the US Sony doesn't do that. I have the same issue with blu ray disc locking up in the middle of the movie and then will not recongize any blu ray disc after. I called Sony and was told to upgrade the system which I did to 2.10. After I did that it seemed like the blu ray disc was working until it locked up again. Called Sony again and was then told a package would be sent to send the PS3 back in. System was released too soon.
rythizzn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2008   #8
The Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UP my bum
Posts: 3,083
Its because the 40Gb has a different laser to the 80Gb and 60Gb, but still uses the same firmware, and it can mess up the Laser.
__________________
[CENTER][I][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkOrange"]I GOTS TEH RUMBLE CONTROLLER![/COLOR][/SIZE][/I][/CENTER]
[CENTER][IMG]http://fc04.deviantart.com/fs17/f/2007/161/3/e/Heroes___A_Pixelated_Sylar_by_Murraycita.gif[/IMG][/CENTER]
MattZani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios