Warning: mysql_query(): Access denied for user ''@'localhost' (using password: NO) in [path]/includes/template/index.php on line 53

Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in [path]/includes/template/index.php on line 53

Warning: mysql_fetch_assoc() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in [path]/includes/template/index.php on line 54
Register Submit this form
 



Go Back   PS3Center.net Discussion Boards > PlayStation Chat > PlayStation 3 Discussion > Technical Support
Follow us on Twitter!
Connect with Facebook

User Name Yes! I'm over 13
   years old
Password
Confirm Pass Submit this form
Email Address
Confirm Email
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008   #1
"The New Guy"
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
help plz

hi there, i know it will prob sound stupid to most of you, but i would be very grateful if anyone can help me. i bought my son a ps3 for xmas and he wants to go online with it, i have no idea what i need to get so he can do this. do i need a router??? he wants to be able to do this from his bedroom. can anyone advise me? thankyou.
juls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008   #2
I own your soul! (Mod)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hull, England
Posts: 1,578
It depends what PS3 you bought, and what kind of internet connection you have, I don't have any instructional links now, but I'm sure google can help with that, just search "how to get a ps3 online" and something useful should come up.
__________________
Holy carp! I got 1000 posts? I obviously wasn't paying attention.
Read the rules... or answer to me
NinjaSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008   #3
World Domination
Site Admin
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 354
PSN ID: Nicarlo
I would suggest getting a normal wireless router. I would recommend a Linksys WRT54G, you can buy them for about 60-80$ .

Once that is done, make sure you have a broadband connection (dsl or cable) and all you got to do is plug your internet modem to your router. Read the instructions you get with the router and they will show you how to setup a secure wireless connection.

Once your wireless is setup go into your ps3 menu in settings ->network settings and follow the steps and then you should be good to go.

If you have anymore questions dont be shy and ask.
Nicarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008   #4
"The New Guy"
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
thanks

will give it a try. thnx very much.
juls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008   #5
World Domination
Site Admin
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 354
PSN ID: Nicarlo
not a problem.

Please update us with your results.
Nicarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008   #6
"The New Guy"
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
help AGAIN

hello again,
i got a router and got it set up, each time on the ps3 i go to download latest software update (which i think i am supposed to do) it only gets to about 10% then says an error occured. i think it says cannot connect to server.
juls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008   #7
"The New Guy"
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
not got a clue

hi, im trying to get my sons ps3 online. i got a router and he seems to be able to get on the internet but when he tries to get online gaming it says to do system update. each time we try this it dowloads up to 33% (or lower) then stops and says error occured during download connection to server cannot be established 80710723. Plz can anyone help??
i was also wondering..... do i need windows media player 11 installed on my computer to work with ps3??
any help much appreciated.
juls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008   #8
I own your soul! (Mod)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Hull, England
Posts: 1,578
I don't have a PS3 myself, does sony have a support website?
__________________
Holy carp! I got 1000 posts? I obviously wasn't paying attention.
Read the rules... or answer to me
NinjaSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008   #9
World Domination
Site Admin
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 354
PSN ID: Nicarlo
try to run an temp Ethernet cable to your ps3 and try to run the update to see if it still crashes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by juls View Post
hi, im trying to get my sons ps3 online. i got a router and he seems to be able to get on the internet but when he tries to get online gaming it says to do system update. each time we try this it dowloads up to 33% (or lower) then stops and says error occured during download connection to server cannot be established 80710723. Plz can anyone help??
i was also wondering..... do i need windows media player 11 installed on my computer to work with ps3??
any help much appreciated.
Nicarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2008   #10
PCN Addict
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Over the river and through the woods
Posts: 716
PSN ID: AdventOfAnarchy
Quote:
Originally Posted by juls View Post
hi, im trying to get my sons ps3 online. i got a router and he seems to be able to get on the internet but when he tries to get online gaming it says to do system update. each time we try this it dowloads up to 33% (or lower) then stops and says error occured during download connection to server cannot be established 80710723. Plz can anyone help??
i was also wondering..... do i need windows media player 11 installed on my computer to work with ps3??
any help much appreciated.
You do need windows media player 11 for WMP to work with the PS3, but it has mixed results. There is this download called Tversity, but it's much more technical then just playing something from WMP.
__________________
http://www.ps3center.net/images/uplo...bar_member.jpg

"I am wearing my safety goggles, that is how serious I am about this game."
lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2008   #11
1337 Sauce
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloyd View Post
You do need windows media player 11 for WMP to work with the PS3, but it has mixed results. There is this download called Tversity, but it's much more technical then just playing something from WMP.
BAD HELP!

just kidding, but no you do not need WMP on you pc for you PS3 to work.

there is a thing called "media server" that can stream your pc music, video, etc. to you pc via wifi, and WMP11 can do this, along with Nero 8 and many other programs.

as for the download issue, you are having the very same issue i was having, you router needs the ports for PSN opened. head over to www.portforward.com and click on "common ports". then find playstation network, then your router, and then follow the pictures.

if you need any more help feel free to ask, if i dont check just pm or email me (nabokovfan87@gmail.com).

also, under network settings, make sure "media server connection" is set to off. if caused a lot of issues for me.

-nabokovfan87

Last edited by MattZani; 22-01-2008 at 12:33 PM.. Reason: Url Hyperlinked
nabokovfan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008   #12
PCN Addict
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Over the river and through the woods
Posts: 716
PSN ID: AdventOfAnarchy
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabokovfan87 View Post
BAD HELP!

just kidding, but no you do not need WMP on you pc for you PS3 to work.

there is a thing called "media server" that can stream your pc music, video, etc. to you pc via wifi, and WMP11 can do this, along with Nero 8 and many other programs.

as for the download issue, you are having the very same issue i was having, you router needs the ports for PSN opened. head over to www.portforward.com and click on "common ports". then find playstation network, then your router, and then follow the pictures.

if you need any more help feel free to ask, if i dont check just pm or email me (nabokovfan87@gmail.com).

also, under network settings, make sure "media server connection" is set to off. if caused a lot of issues for me.

-nabokovfan87
I'll go to the corner of shame now.
__________________
http://www.ps3center.net/images/uplo...bar_member.jpg

"I am wearing my safety goggles, that is how serious I am about this game."
lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008   #13
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloyd View Post
I'll go to the corner of shame now.
i'm now bringing you back out of the corner of shame. haha.
__________________
That's straight from the "king".
http://www.Sharedimage.net/uploads/c9e281c07d.png
svalbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008   #14
PCN Addict
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Over the river and through the woods
Posts: 716
PSN ID: AdventOfAnarchy
But why, sir? Don't I need to do my time?
__________________
http://www.ps3center.net/images/uplo...bar_member.jpg

"I am wearing my safety goggles, that is how serious I am about this game."
lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2008   #15
World Domination
Site Admin
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 354
PSN ID: Nicarlo
guys lets keep this thread on topic please.
Nicarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2008   #16
PCN Senior
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: us of a
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloyd View Post
But why, sir? Don't I need to do my time?
lol.............. okay how about this insfead of running the ethernet cable 2 the computer, let it go straight to the router, then you add another cable for the computer from the router, then if that doesn't work....................there also info on how 2 set all that up in theinstruction manual, its in one of those two books

Last edited by Mr. 33; 27-01-2008 at 05:31 PM..
Mr. 33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2008   #17
"The New Guy"
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
If you havent gotten a good answer just connect the ethernet cable directly from the router to the PS3. The PS3 does have a wireless network card but is alot slower than if you connected the ethernet cable right into it. Try turning off the Media Server and try to update again. Oh another thing Ps3 will auto detect your connection settings.
rythizzn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2008   #18
1337 Sauce
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by rythizzn View Post
If you havent gotten a good answer just connect the ethernet cable directly from the router to the PS3. The PS3 does have a wireless network card but is alot slower than if you connected the ethernet cable right into it. Try turning off the Media Server and try to update again. Oh another thing Ps3 will auto detect your connection settings.
eventually you need to:

1. turn off media server connection
2. update your router's firmware
3. manually assign you ps3 an ip address
4. open the ports for your ps3 in your router using portforward.com

if you need help, email me.

-nabokovfan87
nabokovfan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008   #19
1337 Sauce
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by juls View Post
hi there, i know it will prob sound stupid to most of you, but i would be very grateful if anyone can help me. i bought my son a ps3 for xmas and he wants to go online with it, i have no idea what i need to get so he can do this. do i need a router??? he wants to be able to do this from his bedroom. can anyone advise me? thankyou.
go grab a d-link wireless router. all you do is connect the modem output to the router, log-in to that with a pc or something, set up the security and then you have wifi.

the Linksys routers are plagues with the NAT issue, if you need it here is a guide to fix that.

http://nabokovfan87.wordpress.com/20...t-issue-guide/
nabokovfan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008   #20
MOD
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 850
PSN ID: sauberbmw
Just setup your router according to the instruction manuel.


then goto your ps3 and select whatever you called your wifi
then go back to your rouster and using windows, you should be able to allow the ps3 to connect to the router

ps the router should come with a network reader and displays all connections and that sort
Sauberbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios